Imago Dei

Sistine Chapel Ceiling The debate about whether people can be good without believing in God or any deity seems to continue to be a hot topic in the blogosphere.  I had not found an answer that a really agreed with until I read Mark Driscoll’s response on The Washington Post’s On Faith site.

His argument is basic yet covers every base.  God made us in His image, therefore his morality is in our DNA.  So even if we don’t believe he exists or choose to worship and follow him, the fact that we are designed by Him to be a moral people and reflect his image is impossible to avoid.  This explains why so called post-god societies still have morality.

That argument should make sense to most Christians, but what about people who don’t believe in God?  Let me ask a question.  Can it be by chance that humanity seems to automatically be guided by a moral compass?  Even the most remote tribes have their taboo practices, and they match up across the line globally for the most part.  Is that a result of some natural selection, or design?

I realize the design argument has been run into the ground lately.  To me, it requires more faith to assume humanity is generally good because thats what we have to be to survive, instead of the fact that we are good sometimes because we just can’t help ourselves, it is bread into us, we are mirroring the God that created us.

Christmas is rapidly approaching, a season celebrated for the generosity and general good that people enjoy to do this time of year.  I don’t give my family gifts, or donate to children in need because of some sense of survival.  I do it because I enjoy doing good things.  Where does that feeling come from?  I don’t think it comes from years of evolution, but from a sense that I am doing what I was made to do.

So God created man in his own image,
in the image of God he created him;
male and female he created them.

Genesis 1:27 ESV

Leave a Reply

