I Don’t Even Have Words…But I Have To Say Something

I stumbled upon this article today on the Fox News website.

Pastor Steven Anderson

There are so many things wrong with this that I don’t even know where to start.  Pastor Steven Anderson even stood by his statements at a later date in an interview with Fox.

I went and checked out his churches website and their doctrinal statement and I was speechless.  I know that the King James Version of the Bible and the NIV use a little different language, but this website makes me feel like we are reading different books.

The hate this man has is appalling for someone who is leading a congregation and claiming Jesus as his savior.

It says on his website that he has, “memorized over half of the New Testament.”  I would like to know exactly which parts he memorized that lead him to believe it is OK to pray for the death of anyone.

Ye have heard that it was said of them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment.  But I say unto you, that whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.

Matthew 5:21-22  King James Version

And just for those of us who haven’t kept up with our Shakespearian language:

You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not murder; and whoever murders will be liable to judgment.  But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.

Matthew 5:21-22  ESV

Maybe Mr. Anderson skipped those verses.  It’s a shame.  If he had that one in his repertoire, he would know that by desiring someone to die and go to hell, he is condemning himself to that same fate.

Jesus, in that same chapter of the Gospel of Matthew, even goes on to say, “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in Heaven.  He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous,” (Matthew 5:44-45).

Again I am sure Mr. Anderson missed that verse.  He has only memorized half of the New Testament after all.  I am sure that the teachings of Jesus, a man he claims to follow, were just not the priority.

I would encourage him, no matter what version of the Bible he reads, to go ahead and take another look at how Jesus commands followers of Him to act.  And please stop preaching hate in the name of Jesus.  Thanks.

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Even Have Words…But I Have To Say Something

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

